Thanksgiving Reflections and a Bunch of Turkeys

Lifestyle

Back at the beginning of the year I challenged myself to wake up each day with an attitude of gratitude. After about a week or so, it was no longer a challenge. Rather, it became a habit. Every morning I take just a few moments, whether its over morning coffee or on the way to work, to thank our gracious Lord for the countless blessings He has bestowed on me.

This, my friends, has become a blessing in and of itself. My days are even better than before, and often, I just become so overjoyed by life that I smile to myself as I think about random things I am thankful for, like the beauty of this great city, my amazing family, or even a good song on the radio!

During the Thanksgiving holiday, I was feeling extra thankful, as many of us do.  As I recount some of the funnier moments of my Thanksgiving holiday, I’ll touch briefly on some of things I am most thankful for in my life.

This year, Thanksgiving was quite different than in years of the past. First of all, we spent our first Thanksgiving ever away from my darling little sister, Kelsey. This was not easy, but thanks to technology, we FaceTimed for hours! Literally. And, thanks to our wonderful great-grannie, we will be seeing her this coming weekend for our family Christmas Retreat! I am SO excited!

The second big Turkey Day difference was that it was our first holiday in my parents’ new house at the lake. Embracing new traditions, we hosted dinner for family and friends, and we had some serious fun!

And finally, for some reason, everyone thought it would be a good idea to put my mom and I in charge of making the turkey AND the dressing. I was unaware of this until the morning of when my mom came up to the bunk room, got into bed with me and said, “Well, we better find a good recipe for a turkey!”

Ummmm….. what?!

So, we get up and make our way downstairs into the kitchen. First up, we put the dressing together. Luckily, we had a very detailed recipe from my Aunt Robin who happens to make delicious dressing. We get the dressing put together by about 10:30 or so, and my mom says she thinks we have some time before we have to prepare the turkey and put it in the oven.

But no. Just no. Turkeys need like 3-4 hours to cook! Luckily, I decided to check a recipe before we took a break from the kitchen. So mom and I start freaking out, literally running around the kitchen like little turkey-cooking virgins. We did get some advice: cook it in a brown paper bag; wrap it tight in a ton of foil, etc., but again, no. It was too late for all that as we were fresh out of paper bags and foil.

Ok. So we just start following a random recipe. Well, we don’t have any of the right ingredients! It called for an orange and a lemon. We used a grapefruit and a lime. It called for a ton of thyme, but again, fresh out. This saga goes on until we are like ok, this HAS to go in the oven ASAP! It still doesn’t look that great though, so I suggest that we rub a bunch of ranch seasoning mix on it. Ranch rubbed, turkey in the oven, lets go– even if this may be worse than the dry, crunchy Turkey in Christmas Vacation.

By some miracle of God, it turned out to be FANTASTIC! The best turkey I’ve ever had, no joke!

Thanksgiving Turkeys 2014

Thanksgiving Turkeys 2014

I call this next one Three Turkeys because of my goofy little brother’s photo bomb. Haha!

Three Turkeys

Three Turkeys

Overall, Thanksgiving dinner was a huge success! After dinner, my dad and our friend Mike lit up a fire in the  fire-pit near the shore. We roasted some monster marshmallows and pulled out some sparklers for the kids. They absolutely loved it, and the adults had fun too!

My little cousin Brooklyn with a sparkler!

My little cousin Brooklyn with a sparkler!

Kaylee holding a sparkler out.

Kaylee holding a sparkler.

It was so wonderful to spend time with family last week. Out of everything in my life, they are what I am most thankful for every single day. My mom, dad, sister and brother are my best friends, and I can’t thank them enough for all of the love, laughs and support that they so selflessly give every single day. I tear up, overwhelmed, at the thought of it.

My Thanksgiving holiday shenanigans continued throughout the weekend, and the stories just keep getting funnier! BUT, you’ll have to stay tuned for more later this week!

Happy living and loving!

XO,

Hope

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Reflections and a Bunch of Turkeys

Leave a Reply

