ATX Love: Rain or Shine + Kindness

Lifestyle

I promise weather won’t be the only topic covered in 2015, but for today’s blog I do have a few comments. As discussed previously, we Austinites love the sunshine and clear blue skies. After just a few rainy days, we can begin to get a bit cranky. I know you Seattleites (namely my sister, Kels) would tell us to quit being a bunch of babies, but hey, who doesn’t love the warm feel of golden sunshine on a crisp chilly day?

The last several days have been rain, shine, rain, shine, rain shine. My friend Stephanie came in for the weekend, but we didn’t let the rain get us down! In fact, Steph, Kate and I went for a drizzly hike on the greenbelt early Saturday morning!

On the greenbelt last Saturday. No joke, this dude ate it right after kayaking over these falls. I did get to send him a few good photos though, and he loved them!

On the greenbelt last Saturday. No joke, this dude ate it right after kayaking over these falls. I did get to send him a few good photos though, and he loved them!

Despite the misty rain, it was a fantastic hike. The drizzle kept many of the regular patrons home, and there was soo much water–more than I’ve even seen on the Twin Falls trail! It was as beautiful and invigorating as ever.

Later that day Steph and I stopped at HEB to grab a few things. As I was coming around with the umbrella, I see that the Jeep Commander next to us has a window down. I say to Steph, “Oh no, look at the window down on that Jeep. That sucks!”

“Do you want to do something really nice for them?” Steph replies.

“Umm yep!! Sure do!”

So, we got some newspaper out of her trunk and put it over their window to keep the rain out. Fast forward. We get back to the car to find this note on the windshield. What a great feeling!

People are awesome!!

People are awesome!!

This morning I woke up thinking, “Great, yet another rainy day!” But if you know me whatsoever, you know I am all about keeping it positive no matter what. I also believe that it is important to begin your morning with positive, happy thoughts in order to set the tone for the day. It may sound cheesy, but believe me people, it works!

Rain-me_pp

Taking rainy day selfies this afternoon!

So how can I put a positive spin on this rain today? Almost immediately I became excited thinking about this adorable umbrella which was a gift from my gracious team leader, Camille. How cute is this?!

Yes, I am a dork who took a photo of their adorable umbrella.

Yes, I am a dork who took a photo of their cuteee umbrella.

As we don’t normally get too much rain down here in Austin, Texas, I don’t get to pull out an umbrella very often! I just love this one though!! And so today, I found another way to be excited about the rain. 🙂

Nonetheless, here’s to hoping for sunshine tomorrow…

Taken last week from the Townlake trail.

Taken last week from the Townlake trail. 

Until next time,

Hope

Leave a Reply

