Spring on the Greenbelt

Lifestyle

Spring is arguably my favorite time of the year in Austin. The weather is phenomenal, the vegetation lush, and the city’s energy is vibrant and alive.

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Last Saturday I made a solo trip to the Barton Creek Greenbelt via the Twin Falls trail head. Fully prepared for my adventure with plenty of water, my camera, a journal and some good tunes, my blissful day began.

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

I arrived at 10:30 AM with no real intention set for the day other than to soak up some sun and to reconnect with nature. The real estate market is in full swing right now, so I am constantly on the go. This was the first Saturday I’d had to myself in quite a while, and I couldn’t think of a better way to spend it– hiking, photographing, journaling, people-watching and soaking up every ounce of energy and light possible.

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

As the day went on and my phone eventually died, I completely lost track of time, and for once, I was completely ok with that. Eight miles, hundreds of photos, twenty pages in my journal and a slight sunburn later, I made it back to my car around 5:30 PM.

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

In hopes of best sharing the atmosphere and the energy of the day, here is an excerpt from my journal:

March 28, 2015

Words of influence for the day: happiness, positivity, optimism, hope, give, light & love.

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

I made a trip to the greenbelt alone today. Its absolutely incredible. the weather is ideal– 70’s, sunshine and not a cloud in this deep blue Texas sky. I’m sitting on the cusp of Sculpture Falls, soaking up the sun, the vibrant energy of other greenbelt patrons, and of course, the natural beauty of this stellar treasure.

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Everyone you encounter shares a warm smile, a mutual understanding that out here, we are all disconnected from the daily bustle of the city. In that respect, and in many others, the greenbelt is such a friendly space. Its a natural haven of beauty. Its a place to slow down. To reset. To escape the stress, worries and constant go-factor of every other day.

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

As I sit listening to the crystal waters rushing over the falls, I too reset. I thank God for the sheer beauty of His creation and for the opportunity to live here, in such an amazing city where I can retreat into nature within a matter of minutes.

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Today I ask myself: what can I do to become a better person? What can I do to enrich others’ lives? What can I do to make tomorrow better?

Give thanks. Give hope. Give positivity. Give love.

The feelings brought on by this natural oasis almost bring me to tears. Its an incredible, calming inner-peace.

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

I feel like I could spend days here– listening, observing, appreciating.

Life is good most days, but today its nothing short of wonderful.

{end excerpt}

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

Barton Creek Greenbelt :: Spring 2015

If you haven’t hit the trails yet this year Austinites, get out there! And if you’re just visiting or new to the area, I would be happy to give you some direction on where to go. Just give me a shout!

Until next time,

Hope

Leave a Reply

